3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 4, 2009 2:37 PM by john westerveld RSS

How sustainable is sustainable manufacturing?

Trevor Miles Novice
Currently Being Moderated

I am fortunate enough to have experienced a very nacent environmental movement while at university in the 1970's.  Yes, it is true, there were even some departments of Environmental Studies.  I studied Chemical Engineering and was fortunate enough to come across a number of professors interested in reducing the environmental impact of human activity.  For example, many mines in South Africa are over a mile deep and most of the material that has to be hauled up to the surface gets thrown away.  Hauling it up uses an enormous amount of energy and disposing of the residue on the surface is both unsightly and environmentally hazardous.  Concentrating the ore underground would help to solve both issues.  Another professor in waste water treatment was looking at ways of adapting the process to deal with waste from factories.  While the catch phrase "reduce, reuse, recycle" was still to come, at least some people were trying to address the environmental consequences.

My point is that we have been talking about these topics for a very long time. While there has been progress, there hasn't been a lot of progress.  If there had been, we wouldn't see such strong green sentiment at the moment.  As with anything else, I believe people and comapnies will change their behaviour when they have a vested interest, other than good will, in doing so.  For example, Germany instituted a law making manufacturers responsible for the disposal of packaging.  In no time at all those half empty cereal boxes with lots of pretty colours disappeared from the shelves, replaced by much smaller and full boxes.

So, what will make green manufacturing a reality?  Good intentions, or good legislation?

• Re: How sustainable is sustainable manufacturing?